Minutes of the General Faculty Meeting held on May 10, 2005

Present: Jean Collier (Chair), Ellie Wilson, Lotta Löfgren, Dawn Rigney, John Wilson, Virginia Carter, Bill Keene, Camilla Curnow (Chair-elect), Pam MacIntyre, Robin Kuzen, James Groves, Prue Thorner, Nancy Gansneder, Daisy Rodriguez, Carol Hunter, Phil Gates. Tyler Gallik, Health Systems Development (proxy for Mary Beth Knight). Absent: Derry Wade.

Guests: Mark Ross, Urology, Murielle Kervizic, International Studies, Lynda White, Library.

1. Chair's Report:

Jean announced that Bill Keene has been elected to the Faculty Senate. He will step down from his role on the Faculty Senate/General Faculty Council Joint Committee (see item 5 below). The GFC 2004-2005 Annual Report prepared by previous chair Lotta Lofgren is now posted on the web site. We have \$5,439.05 in our operating budget. There will be no meeting in July, but we will have a June meeting and an executive committee meeting in August.

2. Lynda White - Diversity Committee

Lynda reported as a member of the University's Diversity Committee. She noted that the committee is recommending that employment data should be clearly presented by school and by administrative unit. It will not be possible to obtain department data on employment other than by special request.

Attendance at equal opportunity workshops will be mandatory for all University officers responsible for hiring. There will be an online training course for everyone who serves on a faculty search committee.

Gertrude Fraser is planning for a faculty advancement web site.

The committee will meet with President Casteen and the Diversity Officer (still to be announced) in January 2006.

Lynda also said that policies relating to general faculty advancement and promotion are being reviewed by the Provost and the VP for Finance.

The University has no plans to extend benefits to domestic partners until the Commonwealth amends its policies to cover them under state policies.

University policies are now pulled together on a webpage at: http://www.virginia.edu/uvapolicies/

3. Bill Keene – Policy Committee and Working Group

Bill reported that the working group's two draft policies – on sources of funding for temporarily disabled sponsor-supported employees and bridging support for

research faculty during a temporary hiatus in external support – have been submitted to the University's Policy Committee. However, in addition to VP for Research Ariel Gomez, the committee requires that a second vice president endorse the proposed policies before they will be considered further. Bill suggested that VP Gomez approach Provost Gene Block to solicit his support for these draft policies. VP Gomez and his staff are currently considering how best to proceed.

4. Robin Kuzen - Higher Education Restructuring Plan

Robin reported that Leonard Sandridge has said that the University's Management Plan will be developed over the summer. Colette Sheehy will be the point person for it. However, there is no indication that the administration will support the appointment of a faculty member to the Board of Visitors. Robin will draft a letter to Secretary of the Board of Visitors Alexander Gilliam, to be reviewed by the GFC, with a request to take this to the Board for their consideration.

5. The following Council members were nominated to serve on the Faculty Senate /GFC Joint Governance Committee:

Pam MacIntyre (for administration, 2-year term)
Ellie Wilson (for teaching faculty, 2-year term)
John Wilson (for research faculty and staff, 1-year term to fill balance of Bill Keene's term)

6. Committees, Working Groups, and Representatives

The Council's committees and working groups as well as representatives to University groups for 2005-06 are listed below. The GFC Chair serves as an exofficio member of all committees.

BY-LAWS COMMITTEE

Phil Gates (Chair)
Dawn Rigney
Ellie Wilson

COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

Mary Beth Knight (Chair)
Nancy Gansneder
Carol Hunter
Prue Thorner
Derry Wade

DATA MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

(Chair)

Virginia Carter Mark Ross (non-GFC member) Lynda White (non-GFC member)

ELECTIONS COMMITTEE

Derry Wade (Chair) Robin Kuzen Daisy Rodriguez

POLICY COMMITTEE

Bill Keene (Chair) Camilla Curnow Robin Kuzen Lotta Lofgren Lynda White John Wilson

Chris Milner (List Administrator)
Jean Collier (Webmaster)

WORKING GROUPS

Professional Development – Camilla Curnow (Chair)
Benefits and Bridge Funding – [merged into Policy Committee]
Salary Equity - Carol Hunter (Chair)

Representatives to University Groups:

Faculty Senate Research Committee: John Wilson (2005-2006)
Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee: Phil Gates (2005-2006)

Faculty Senate/General Faculty Council Joint Committee:

Pam MacIntyre (administration, 2-year term) Ellie Wilson (teaching faculty, 2-year term)

John Wilson (research faculty and staff, 1-year term to fill balance of Bill Keene's term)

Respectfully submitted, Prue Thorner GFC Secretary