## GENERAL FACULTY COUNCIL

## MINUTES Luncheon Meeting, Wednesday, June 12, 2013 12:00 - 1:30pm Darden Abbott Center

Present: B. Nowviskie, B. Kessler, D. Williams, M. Slon, A. Ingram, G. Cohen, G. Saathoff, A. Rice, S. Warner, D. Gioeli, J. Lannigan, B. Jefferson, C. Smith, J. Sertzer, S. Ware

- 1. The meeting was called to order by Barbara Kessler. A quorum was established.
- 2. Minutes from the May 8, 2013 meeting were approved.

## Business:

- 3. Further information on the Provost's Non-Tenure-Track-Faculty Task Force was provided. The Provost has a list of recommended participants but has not yet convened the task force. He is working on framing the charge for the task force.
- 4. Discussion of the latest strategic planning document:
  - a. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee Comments will collect comments internally and a town hall meeting will be held in the fall to take in broader views. Direct responses may also be given through the Faculty Senate website.
  - b. GFC invited to send comments to B. Kessler by June 21. These will be passed along to the Planning Committee contact.
- 5. Faculty Senate Chair and Vice Chair have been meeting with Board of Visitors members periodically. They stress the need for faculty input when the University President is evaluated and the need for a faculty member on the Board of Visitors.
- 6. Elections:
  - a. Bethany Nowviskie was elected Chair.
  - b. Steve Warner was elected Chair-elect.
  - c. Sarah Ware was elected Secretary.

- 7. Committee Chairs. The following committee chairs were identified for the coming year:
  - a. By-Laws, Colleen Smith
  - b. Communications, Steve Warner (open to co-chair)
  - c. Data Management, Greg Saathoff
  - d. Elections, Jeff Sitler
  - e. Policy, Barbara Kessler
- 8. Appreciation was expressed for outgoing members and outgoing chair Barbara Kessler.

Adjournment